Paul Brown

Tamiya 1/48 Crusader

Seeing as I have a recent completion I'm allowing myself the luxury of cracking open a box and starting a new build in order to participate in the GB. It's going to be the Tamiya 1/48 Crusader and seeing as I've been curious about these Tamiya kits it's the perfect excuse to actually get cracking. It looks fab in the box.

DSC_0405.thumb.jpg.0cd9d4c890a67a3cc1015325cd756850.jpg

• Like 7

This is the reason why I'm only an occasional AFV builder - too many wheels! When I first looked at the DSPIAE nippers I thought they were an expensive extravagance, but now I've come to realise that in reducing the amount of time spent in cleaning up, they're actually worthwhile having.

DSC_0562.thumb.JPG.35415dfb74272cc491a283d21a9f7afb.JPG

Detail in the wheels themselves is exquisite. Next up the diecast hull. This has a nice weight to it and comes already primed. I suspect it's a little simplified, but there won't be much visible at the end of the day. I was a little worried about the fit of the plastic parts on the metal, but they fit perfectly. It is after all a Tamiya kit.

DSC_0570.thumb.JPG.7f010ca5f304a907a714c91abc67d030.JPG

DSC_0571.thumb.JPG.11c803b6adc66563f8609940f10dd2b7.JPG

DSC_0572.thumb.JPG.3e6b0c1ca81cc1925e24dcd99bbad332.JPG

For bonding plastic to metal I used some recently purchased T7000 glue, it seems to work really well. That's all for today.

• Like 5

I've been looking at them for some time, this one came up on a Facebook auction and I won it for a good price. This GB was the perfect excuse to break it out and I don't think it's going to disappoint, it looks wonderful in the box.