Nobody Significant

Airfix 1/72nd Handley Page Victor K.2 (2020)

I started this a couple of months ago, but have done nothing for at least a month now.

I know....  I know....  I did tell you guys I was a slow builder.  It all depends on my "modelling mojo", which fluctuates wildly throughout the year.

I need to extract the proverbial digit from the proverbial orifice!

The intention is to build the 1982 "Operation Black Buck" variant as supplied in the box.  I love a nice camo-job.  I have added the Eduard cockpit PE set, and am using the Eduard masks out of sheer laziness, but that's it.  In all other respects this is an OOB build.  I'll add updates here as I (eventually) make them.

a12009-handley-page-victor-k2-sr2-box-fr

Drilled out the holes in the airbrake hinges.

IMG-1495.jpg

Was surprised at the amount of flash on such a recent new-tool kit.

IMG-1496.jpg

IMG-1501.jpg

IMG-1502.jpg

IMG-1503.jpg

Liquid gravity in the nose (both sides!) to stop it being a tail-sitter.

IMG-1504.jpg

Edited by Nobody Significant
  • Like 10

Hoo-hoo NoSignif,this looks very interesting.

A Black Buck Victor eh,great stuff.

A book you really need is "Vulcan 607"(if you haven't already),the planning/fuel bracketing all worked out on the

backs of fag packets(pretty much)it took just to get a single stick of 21 1000lb-ers to "cut" Stanley's runway and

the Withers crew/607 back to Ascension is nothing short of amazing in those pre-computer days .

• Like 3
  • Thanks 1

Once saw someone on an aeroplaney programme describe the Victor as 'the most evil looking aircraft ever built.' That was in 1/1 scale though.

• Like 2
  • Haha 1

13 hours ago, Miggers said:

A book you really need is "Vulcan 607"(if you haven't already),the planning/fuel bracketing all worked out on the

backs of fag packets(pretty much)it took just to get a single stick of 21 1000lb-ers to "cut" Stanley's runway and