Sign in to follow this  
Gimmie Shelter

Imperial Star Destroyer - big and long (1/1500 Randy Cooper resin kit)

Hi - so I'm a newbie to the site but certainly not new to the hobby. I've enjoyed 3 or so years IPMS membership at the Farnborough club who are a great gang and really make the hobby fun and are a wealth of knowledge. I've been modelling since the age of about 5 having placed the hobby on pause for around 10 years or so in my 30's to focus on bringing up my family if ankle biters, however 2 of my lads got into war gaming which soon brought me back to the hobby bench and into mainstream modelling once again.

The naughtier and more outspoken few at my club recommended this site as a good alternative place for modelling rogues to share in the hobby, noting that the forum may well be a place where you can be a tad more out spoken without being given an online detention for pointing out the obvious which others may have otherwise taken offence of.

So here we have the Randal (Randy) Cooper 1/1500 Resin Star Destroyer kit which measures in at around 38" and costs around £600 once you have it cleared through the UK Customs and Exorcists officers. The price tag has not stopped there, now with about a further £700 worth of 3D printed replacement parts, wiring, lighting, fibre, resin glues, metal for stand, internal structure timber, plenty of Evergreen; all in all its worked out to be an expensive kit but worth every penny for the enjoyment and challenge it has presented.